American Business and Technology University (ABTU) is accredited by the Distance Education Accrediting Commission (DEAC).

The Distance Education Accrediting Commission is listed by the U.S. Department of Education as a recognized accrediting agency and it is recognized by the Council for Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA).

Click here to verify ABTU on the Council for Higher Education Accreditation [CHEA] website 

Click here to view approval status from the U.S. Department of Education

Click here to view facts about the Distance Education Accrediting Commission [DEAC]

Helpful information when choosing a post secondary/higher education school:

View this publication provided by CHEA: “Accreditation Matters, Ask before You Decide”

View the following videos about the importance of accreditation:

State Authorizations


American Business and Technology University (ABTU) is certified to operate by the Missouri Coordinating Board for Higher Education & Workforce Development (MDHEWD).  ABTU is Missouri’s first accredited online institution.

Other States
American Business and Technology University (ABTU) is exempt in nearly every state as a distance education provider and is also approved by the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act of 2014 – WIOA (replacing the former Workforce Investment Act of 1998 – WIA) as a qualified provider in many states.  Inquire at your local unemployment office to confirm approval in your state.

Affiliations & Memberships

Faculty Memberships

ABTU faculty members belong to the following educational associations and organizations:

  • American Association of Adult and Continuing Education
  • Computer Society of the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers, Inc. (IEEE)
  • Association of Information Technology Professionals

Professional Affiliations

ABTU is a member of the following community organizations:

  • Chamber of Commerce, St. Joseph, MO
  • Better Business Bureau

Military Affiliations

  • Approved to accept Veterans Affairs Benefits
    • GI Bill
    • Veterans Vocational Rehabilitation
  • Approved to accept Department of Defense Benefits
    • Active Duty Tuition Assistance
    • MyCAA